“Prom perfection… and so much better than a tent”

27 Jun 2016Reviewed by LondonTravellingDeb

I used to visit Wilsons Prom as a child – camping with my family at the Tidal River campsite. So how wonderful it is to visit the Prom several decades later, staying at a delightful, well-situated and comfortable cottage at Limosa Rise. No need to worry about the tent blowing over in a gale, which you sometimes get in this part of the world, when you can listen to the rain on the roof and curl up in front of the fireplace with Scrabble. Scrabble and firewood are part of the supplies in this well-equipped cottage with fabulous views – you will want to stock up on comfort foods en route so you can settle in after your day’s hiking at the Prom – or whatever in this lovely region of Victoria takes your fancy. But I do recommend it as a gateway to one of the most beautiful national parks in the world, where Squeaky Beach is happily unchanged from the days of my childhood, although the walking tracks are much better maintained than they used to be. And staying here is so much more comfortable than darting for the shower block in the dark!


Unfortunately we only spent two nights here, but it was the best accommodation on our trip. Comfortable, great surroundings, the Wilsons Prom around the corner and a view of nature, including grazing kangaroos at dusk. Completely self contained but with a grill on the porch.

3 Sep 2017  mcrob1, Berlin, Germany – Trip Advisor



Can’t praise this location and standard of accommodation enough. Stayed her for 2 nights but wished it had been for like longer. Extremely well appointed and very peaceful. Just a short drive away from the entrance to the nature reserve. A family of kangarooos hopped by this morning and a wombat came along later. One to remember!

October 2017 – JonAthanfhward, Exeter, UK – Trip Advisor



If you want peace, quiet and beautiful scenery this is the place for you. We stayed for two nights and wished it had been longer. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and we couldn’t have been made to feel more welcome. Thank you for a truly lovely stay.

November 2017 – Mark&Helen, Oxford, UK – Trip Advisor



As other reviewers have written this place is pretty much perfect. Beautiful and if you want perfect peace this is it. Wonderful birdlife and nature to watch without even leaving the deck though the local walks are terrific too. Don’t even notice that there are 2 other cottages next to is. We didn’t hear another human being (except talking to Joan!) whilst we were there. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you for a wonderful short break.

November 2017 – Ann G, UK – Trip Advisor


We were in the Australian winter in Limosa Rise (July) and therefore could enjoy a wonderful peace. By car, it is now in the National Park Wilsons Promontory and since enjoying a lot of nature. The space inside the cottage is very generous – a very clean and large bathroom, and a very well-oriented cuisine. We were almost disappointed to only have two nights here. Here is definitely worth a longer stay.
7 July 2018
Reviewed by Hocico Frankfurt


Limosa Rise, Is in the perfect location for visiting Wilsons Prom, We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights in June, and were happy to accept the winter special of pay for 2 night and stay for 3. We paid $900 for the 2 nights in a 2 bedroom cottage. The cottage over looks the water, every room has a lovely garden & spectacular bay views. The spacious lounge/kitchen/dining area has a fireplace, which kept the cottage nice and toasty during our visit. The bedrooms have built in wardrobes, and each had its own ensuite. The cottages are well kept, clean and tidy, in a great location, what more could you ask for.. We will definitely be back.. Joan & Trish were lovely, and happy to help with any questions we had, and are knowledgeable of the surrounding area. We walked to the beach from the cottage, it took about 25min, but we do have a toddler, so you could probably do it in about 15 min.
4 July 2017 Reviewed by LivesinMelbourne


“Ideal base for Wilsons Promontory. Like going from home on tour.”

Beautiful location, spacious cottages, overlooking the bay. Waking up cockatoos and parrots around the garden, kangaroos come to drink at the watering place, about 30 meters before the cottage Stringy Bark – a wonderful vacation spot. Bedrooms are spacious, with good beds, pillows and blankets. Bathrooms (each bedroom its own) have nice showers, toilets and heating. Living room is cozy, with a fireplace for cozy warmth at night and air conditioning during the day. Owners are nice, helpful people, as you might expect. Highly recommended.

17 Apr 2017  A TripAdvisor Member


“Great place and studio.”

What a great place and what a beautiful studio. From your bed you look into nature for a very nice environment. The studio is spotless, spacious, bed was good, all facilities. Even WiFi! I would recommend everyone to go at least 2 nights over here. The park is beautiful to visit the beaches and walks. To do!!!!!

13 Apr 2017  A TripAdvisor Member



“Limosa Rise – Wilsons Prom”

Amazing place to stay. There were four of us and the accommodation allowed us to come together in the middle area but have our own space with the bedrooms at either side of the hexagonal room. It was perfectly setup with everything we needed for a perfect stay. The location is amazing, with a beautiful setting to look out onto while enjoying a glass of wine and lots of wildlife and birds to watch. Excellent walk to take from the Camping ground at the bottom of the hill, but watch out for when you go as high tide can make it tricky to get back along the beach! Well worth a stay.

5 April 2017 Reviewed by Rachel T


“What can we add? Just excellent!”

All of the reviews are great. We agree. The only problem we had was that it is very hard to control the shower temperature without wasting a lot of precious water. Trish and Joan have created a gem close to the beauty of the Prom.

17 March 2017 Reviewed by Mellonross